The Sauna

I made some decent progress on the sauna this summer. With the winter setting in, I’ve had to make a hiatus as the mud is not drying quick enough anymore. Even with the last cord I put up a couple weeks ago, it is still not completely dry, and it has started permitting mold to develop on some of the log ends. I have some doubts about this technique. With the wood fiber running through the wall (as the logs are laid on their sides), does this not promote the transfer of heat from the inside to the outside? We will see.

Otherwise I will take advantage of the season to start building the pyramid roof. I’ve come to realise the budget wood I bought is of terrible quality and not suitable as rafters. So I will have to redo the pyramid’s floor if it is to hold anyone. Then I will build the roof frame and tile it. I’ve also got to cut about 400 glass bottles.

In the meantime I’ve been working on a hot tub. A post on this will follow shortly.

Pictures of the progress

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment